Wollombi Valley Online
Wollombi Valley Online
Sustainable community, living with heritage, art and nature
Wollombi Valley Country Fair

Federal Government

The Wollombi district is in the Hunter Federal electorate.

The seat was first proclaimed in 1901 and was named after the second Governor of New South Wales, John Hunter (1737-1821).

Since 1901 only nine people have been elected to represent the seat of Hunter in the Federal Parliament. The first Member for Hunter was Sir Edmund Barton who served as Prime Minister between 1 January 1901 and 24 September 1903.

At the time of the last Federal election in 2001, there were 84649 electors enrolled to vote in an area of approximately 10594 sq km.

The main townships of the electorate include; Muswellbrook, Denman, Singleton, Branxton, Bolwarra, Broke, Maitland, Kurri Kurri, Cessnock and Wollombi.

The Local Government areas of Muswellbrook, Singleton, Cessnock and Maitland fall within the electorate boundaries.

Hunter also includes the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorate of Cessnock, parts of Maitland and Upper Hunter.

Joel Fitzgibbon MP (ALP)


Federal Member for the Hunter Electorate

Contact: Joel Fitzgibbon
Phone: 4991 1022
Fax: 4991 2322